Faculty Staff Post Doctoral Fellows/Research Associates

Stavros Avramidis

Stavros Avramidis

Professor and Head
Wood Physics and Drying
Phone: (604) 822-6153
E-mail: stavros.avramidis@ubc.ca

Rodger Beatson

BCIT
Adjunct Professor
Pulp & Paper Chemistry

Carellin Brooks

Carellin Brooks

Lecturer
Communication Strategies
Phone: (604) 827-2793
E-mail: c.brooks@ubc.ca

Julie Cool

Julie Cool

Associate Professor
Wood Machining
Phone: (604) 827-0639
E-mail: julie.cool@ubc.ca

Emily Cranston

Emily Cranston

Associate Professor and President’s Excellence Chair
Bio-based Nanomaterials
Phone: (604) 827-0627
Email: emily.cranston@ubc.ca

Chunping Dai

Chunping Dai

Associate Professor
Wood and Bamboo Composite Materials
Phone: (604) 827-6047
E-mail: chunping.dai@ubc.ca

Christine Dean

Christine Dean

Adjunct Professor
Forest Products
Genomics Technology
and Biotechnologies

Jörn Dettmer

Jörn Dettmer

Assistant Professor of Teaching, Wood Products Design and Manufacturing
Phone: (604) 822-5997
E-mail:
jorn.dettmer@ubc.ca

Simon Ellis

Simon Ellis

Associate Professor
Wood Anatomy & Quality
Phone: (604) 822-3551
E-mail: simon.ellis@ubc.ca

Phil Evans

Professor
BC Leadership Chair Wood Protection and Finishing
Photoprotection & Modification of Wood
Phone: (604) 822-0517
E-mail: phil.evans@ubc.ca

Haibo Feng

Haibo Feng

Assistant Professor
Sustainable Timber-Built Environment – Building Science & Technology
Phone: (604) 827-0659
E-mail: haibo.feng@ubc.ca

Robert Furst

Robert Fürst

Associate Professor of Teaching
Manufacture of Secondary Wood Products
Phone: (604) 822-0034
E-mail: robert.fuerst@ubc.ca

Christopher Gaston

Christopher Gaston

Associate Professor
Forest Products Marketing & Economics

Phone: (604) 827-1417
E-mail: chris.gaston@ubc.ca

Feng Jiang

Feng Jiang

Assistant Professor
Canada Research Chair in Advanced Carbohydrate Chemistry &
Sustainable Functional Biomaterials

Phone: (604) 822-7667
E-mail: feng.jiang@ubc.ca

Kwang Ho Kim

Korea Institute of Science and Technology
Adjunct Professor
Biomass Conversion Engineering

Rob Kozak

Robert Kozak

Professor and Dean
Sustainable Business Management
Phone: (604) 822-2402
E-mail:  rob.kozak@ubc.ca

Frank Lam

Frank Lam

Professor
Senior Chair in Wood Building Design & Construction
Timber Engineering
Phone: (604) 822-6526
E-mail: frank.lam@ubc.ca

Vincent Leung

Vincent Leung

Associate Professor of Teaching
Director, Wood Products Processing Program
Computer-Aided Design & Manufacture of Wood Products
Phone: (604) 827-2661
E-mail: vincent.leung@ubc.ca

Neil Leveridge

Neil Leveridge

Assistant Professor of Teaching
Communications Strategist
Phone: (604) 822-1334
E-mail: neil.leveridge@ubc.ca

Minghao Li

Minghao Li

Associate Professor
Sustainable Timber-Built Environment
Phone: 604-822-2434
E-mail: minghao.li@ubc.ca

Christiano Loss

Cristiano Loss

Assistant Professor
Associate Chair in Wood Building Design & Construction
Phone: (604) 822-6716
E-mail:
cristiano.loss@ubc.ca

Shawn Mansfield

Shawn Mansfield

Professor
Biotechnology and Chemistry of Wood Fibres
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
Phone: (604) 822-0196
E-mail: shawn.mansfield@ubc.ca

Marjan Popovski

Marjan Popovski

FPInnovations
Adjunct Professor
Advanced Building Systems

Alan Potter

Alan Potter

Innovation Management
Adjunct Professor
Forest Sector Transformation & Development

Scott Renneckar

Scott Renneckar

Professor
Canada Research Chair in Advanced Renewable Materials
Phone: (604) 827-0637
E-mail: scott.renneckar@ubc.ca

Orlando Rojas

Orlando Rojas

Professor
Canada Excellence Research Chair in Biobased Colloids and Materials
Phone: (604) 822-3457
Email: orlando.rojas@ubc.ca

Jack Saddler

Jack Saddler

Professor
Forest Products Biotechnology/Bioenergy
Phone: (604) 822-9741
E-mail: jack.saddler@ubc.ca

Greg Smith

Gregory Smith

Professor
Wood Composites
Phone: (604) 822-0081
E-mail: greg.smith@ubc.ca

Rod Stirling

FP Innovations
Adjunct Professor
Sustainable Construction Materials

Taraneh Sowlati

Taraneh Sowlati

Professor and Associate Dean, Research and Innovation
Forest Products and Forest Biomass Supply Chain Management and Optimization
Phone: (604) 822-6109
Email: taraneh.sowlati@ubc.ca

Qingshi Tu

Qingshi Tu

Assistant Professor
Industrial Ecology
Phone: (604) 827-6336
Email: qingshi.tu@ubc.ca

Faride Unda

Faride Unda

Lecturer
Plant & Bioproducts Biotechnology
Phone: (604) 842-2696
Email: faride.unda@ubc.ca

Hamish van der Ven

Assistant Professor of Sustainable Business Management of Natural Resources
Phone: (604) 822-4142
Email:
hamish.vanderven@ubc.ca

Felix Wiesner

Felix Wiesner

Assistant Professor
Sustainable Timber-Built Environment – Fire Safety
Phone: (604) 822-9852
Email: felix.wiesner@ubc.ca